Searching for a Quiet Mind

Tonight, my mind is full of noise. It is full of questions and ideas. Questions and ideas about the things God wants me to do. Brainstorms, To-Do Lists, email, social media, etc.

Time kept passing by in increments of half hours every time I checked the clock.


Dinner, bathtime, bedtimes all flew by too fast. Now, it is about 10:30. The kids are fast asleep, and I could be too. I should be sleeping.

This is a battle I often fight. One thought leading to another. My daily To-Do List resonating in my mind as I evaluate my performance throughout this day.

Did I clean enough? Was dinner up to par? Are the dishes done? Did I play with the kids enough? Did I love them enough, Lord?

I can do more, Lord, what should I be doing? In my days? In my life?

Then, two and a half hours after contemplating if I was enough today, and what more I should be doing in my life, I remain exhausted. However, exhausted with the beginnings of a plan. A challenge.

A challenge to seek God first every morning. A challenge to implement a true quiet time with the Lord BEFORE my children wake up like bright headlights ready to navigate their days. A challenge to give myself grace by reducing my daily To-Do List, and increase my joy in treasuring simple moments. A challenge to go to bed earlier by having more peace about each blessed day. A challenge to remember He is enough.

Stay tuned for an update on that challenge. I will share as I search for a quiet mind nightly… a peace knowing that I am enough because He is enough, and He lives in me.

Selah

Leave a Reply

