Motto In A Minute: Wednesday Rest Day!

I started off my week on Monday with a dreadfully long task list. There were so many boxes on my calendar to check off. It didn’t take much time before I realized that this lengthy list, on top of being sick, was unrealistic and would hinder my joy with my children that day. I had to step back and be intentional about spreading those tasks throughout the entire week instead of cramming them into one day. 
Oh, the relief I immediately felt seeing less tasks on my calendar on Monday! In fact, I declared that I would do more resting Wednesday (today) than work. I don’t know about you, but Wednesday being in the middle of the week I tend to lose motivation and look forward to the weekend. Today, I will even use supplemental learning activities and videos for homeschooling my four year old today and make it a FUN and restful day.

Even if you don’t have the freedom to make your own schedule today, give yourself breaks! I have read before that some of the most productive offices and companies are those that give their employees plenty of breaks throughout the day. They work really hard for a set amount of time, and then they have a 5-10 minute break to rest, do something relaxing or enjoyable, and then re-focus. Then they get back to work repeating the cycle of work then rest. It has been proven that this helps people be more productive in a shorter amount of time while still getting rest!

Moses rested. Jacob rested. Jesus rested. God rested. The Bible tells us we can find rest in Him.

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭11:29‬ ‭NIV‬‬


“The Lord replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.””

‭‭Exodus‬ ‭33:14‬ ‭NIV‬


“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭11:28‬ ‭NIV


So, if you have a flexible schedule I challenge you to transform this midweek day into a day of rest! Call on the Lord! If you work full time today, then I challenge you to find a way to implement multiple breaks throughout your day to make time to REST and talk to the Lord. He will refresh you! Then, after work… leave the laundry (and maybe the dishes too) for tomorrow. REST! we perform our best when we’re refreshed!
Selah

Leave a Reply

